The International Geneva Committee

The  International Geneva Committee is composed of high-level representatives of International Organizations (IOs) in order to establish a link between Swiss scientists and IO's headquartered in Geneva.

The main function of the International Geneva Committee is to define the yearly thematic issue for the SNIS call for projects. It furthermore acts as a Jury of the International Geneva Award. Finally, it contributes to a series of round-table debates taking place at various universities in Switzerland. 


Picture Name Current position Institution
Salman Bal Senior Political Coordination Adviser, Office of the Director-General OtherUNOG - United Nations Office at Geneva
Maurizio Bona Senior Advisor, Relations with Parliaments and Science for Policy CERN European Organization for Nuclear Research
Marcelo Di Pietro Peralta Acting Director WIPO World Intellectual Property Organisation
Bernard Kuiten Head of External Relations WTO WORLD TRADE ORGANISATION
Paul Ladd Director UNRISD United Nations Research Institute for Social Development
Richard Lukacs Advisor Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the United Nations Office at GenevaOther
Moazam Mahmood Deputy Director at the Research Department ILO International Labour Organisation
Gonzalo Oviedo Senior Adviser on Social Policy OtherIUCN International Union for the Conservation of Nature
Francesco Pisano Director UNOG - United Nations Office at Geneva
Jyoti Sanghera Chief, Human Rights and Economic and Social Issues Section OHCHR United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
Jarmo Sareva Director UNIDIR United Nations Institute for Disarmement Research
Maria Luisa Silva UNDP United Nations Development Programme
Taffere Tesfachew Director UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
Charlotte Warakaulle Director for International Relations CERN European Council for Nuclear Research